Star Wars: Legion Official Rulings Update *Updated

Question: Does pre-measuring with a movement tool during a unit’s activation commit that unit to performing a move?

Answer: No, pre-measuring with a movement tool does not commit to a move. However, pre-measuring with a movement tool may only be done during that unit’s activation.

Question: If a unit, such as Luke Skywalker, moves into range 1-2 of two enemy units that both have standby tokens, and the first enemy unit spends it token to attack Luke Skywalker an defeats him, can the second enemy unit also spend its standby token, even though Luke Skywalker is no longer on the battlefield?

Answer: Yes. The triggering event (in this case Luke Skywalker moving) still occurred, and thus the second unit may still spend its standby token. It may also choose not to spend its standby token since, while multiple game effects can be triggered by one event, they are resolved one at a time and are not “declared” simultaneously. 

Question: Can one clone trooper unit spend multiple subsequent standby tokens from other friendly clone trooper units at range 1?

Answer: Yes. For example, three nearby clone trooper units have standby tokens, and an enemy unit moves into standby range of a fourth clone trooper unit, that fourth unit can spend all three standby tokens, one at a time, to make three attacks.

Question: Can a droid trooper unit with an ion token withdraw?

Answer: Yes, withdrawing takes a unit’s entire activation and all of its available actions; however, it does not require two actions to do so. Similarly, a suppressed unit can also withdraw.

Question: When General Grievous uses his command card Trained in Your Jedi Arts to perform an attack with the weapon listed on the command card, can he use Arsenal 2 to add another weapon to the attack?

Answer: No, each attack must be performed only with the weapon listed on the command card.

Question 1: Can Darth Vader use his command card Vader’s Might to move a unit that is being transported?

Answer: No, the transported unit is not on the battlefield and therefore cannot be moved.

Question 2: When measuring the distance from the unit’s current position to its new position, do you measure from unit leader to unit leader? From any mini to any mini? Or from each mini in the old position to each mini in the new position?

Answer: Each mini moved to the new position must be within range 1 of at least one mini in the unit’s previous location, as if it were two different units. To do this, choose any mini in the unit at its current position, measure range 1 from that mini, then place each mini in the unit within that range (and in cohesion). It may be helpful to move the mini that range 1 is being measured from after all the other minis in the unit have been moved.

Question 3: Can a unit be moved out of base contact?

Answer: Yes.

Question 4: Can a unit be moved into base contact?

Answer: Yes

Question 1: When Luke Skywalker uses his command card You Serve Your Master Well to perform a move or attack action with an enemy unit, can the player performing the action spend that unit’s tokens?

Answer: Yes. The unit controlled by You Serve Your Master Well is treated as a friendly unit by the player performing an action with it for the duration of that action, and the player can spend that unit’s tokens. For example, if the unit performs an attack action, the player can spend its aim tokens to reroll attack dice.

Question 2: Can that player use the unit’s optional abilities, such as the Spur keyword, or abilities that grant free actions such as Charge and Relentless? Can that player exhaust its upgrade cards to use their effects, if they’re applicable to the action being performed?

Answer: Yes.

Question 3: Can that player use actions that are treated as move or attack actions, like the Jump keyword or the Saber Throw upgrade card?

Answer: Yes.

Question 4: Can that player use Fire Support to add their own units’ dice to the attack pool? What about an enemy unit’s dice?

Answer: Because the unit performing the action is treated as a friendly unit for the duration of the action, that player can use the Fire Support keyword of their own units to add dice to the attack pool. The player cannot use the Fire Support keywords of their opponents’ units.

Question 5:  If the unit is a clone trooper, can the player performing an action with it spend the tokens of their own clone trooper units at range 1? What about their opponent’s clone trooper units?

Answer: The player performing the action can spend the tokens of their own clone trooper units at range 1, but not their opponent’s.

Question 6: If the unit being controlled engages an enemy unit, when does that engagement end? Are they still engaged after the move or attack?

Answer: No, the engagement ends as soon as the command card effect (and any triggered card effects) ends, and the enemy units return to being friendly to each other. Friendly minis from different units can be in base contact with each other and are not engaged.

Question: Can a unit be issued an order via another game effect after using the Battle Meditation upgrade card when it would have otherwise been issued an order via a command card? For example, the command card Give Into Your Anger is played and Emperor Palpatine uses Battle Meditation to issue an order to another unit instead of himself–can that other unit use the Comms Relay upgrade card to issue that order to Emperor Palpatine instead?

Answer: Yes. Because Emperor Palpatine was never issued an order, he is still eligible to be issued an order by another game effect.

Question: If General Grievous is wounded and equipped with Tenacity and attacks two different units, does he add 1 red die to each attack pool?

Answer: Yes. The Tenacity upgrade card adds 1 red die to each melee attack pool formed by the unit.

Question: After a unit with the Agile X or Tactical X keyword performs a move, does the unit have to gain the respective token? Or can it choose not to?

Answer: Yes, gaining the token is not an optional effect and will trigger every time the unit performs a standard move.

Question: Can a unit with the Detachment keyword be deployed at a different elevation than the “parent” unit?

Answer: Yes. The unit with the Detachment keyword must be deployed at a distance of speed-1 to simulate cohesion, however the rules for cohesion do not apply.

Question: While another friendly unit is performing an attack and the Limited Visibility condition card is in play, can a unit use Fire Support even if the defender is beyond the ranges specified by the Limited Visibility card?

Answer: Yes. The errata’ed version of Limited Visibility limits attacks beyond a certain range. Using the Fire Support keyword is not an attack, and thus its use is unaffected by the condition card. However, the actual attack must, of course, not be beyond the range specified by Limited Visibility.

Question: After a unit uses the Speeder keyword to perform a move that ignores terrain, can the non-unit leader minis be placed into cohesion on different elevations of terrain than the unit leader is on?

Answer: Yes, as long as the distance between the minis and their unit leader is equal to or less than the X value of the unit’s Speeder X keyword.

Question: If a unit with the Spur keyword panics, is it forced to use Spur when it moves due to panicking?

Answer: Yes. Similar to Jump and Reposition, a unit is forced to use its keywords if doing so assists that unit in moving as quickly and as efficiently as possible toward the nearest edge of the battlefield.

Question: Can Jump be used to move over a creature trooper?

Answer: Yes, if the creature trooper’s height is equal to or less than the Jump X value.

Updated Official Rules Reference

Question: When using the command card Brains and Brawn, can Leia Organa choose an enemy unit as a defender that her weapon does not have range to so that Chewbacca can add his weapon to the attack pool and attack that unit?

Answer: No. Leia must be able to add a weapon to the attack pool in order for the attack to be eligible. If no weapons are added to the attack pool by Leia, the attack does not happen, and therefore Chewbacca cannot add his own weapon.

Question: While Reptilian Rampage is in play during his activation, can Bossk suffer multiple wounds to perform multiple free move actions?

Answer: No. As with all card text that allows an effect to take place “during” a specific window, that effect can only be used or triggered once during that window.

Question: While Entourage cannot be effected by the upgrade card Battle Meditation, can it be effected by the upgrade cards Commanding Presence, Comms Relay, and Long Range Comms?

Answer: Yes. Using the Entourage ability to issue an order is a form of issuing an order.

Continue reading →

FFG: Official Rulings

Posted in Star Wars: Legion Official Rulings

Question: If Sabine Wren is equipped with the Darksaber and is defending against Darth Vader’s melee attack, does she roll three additional defense dice thanks to her Impervious keyword, even though the Darksaber grants her the Immune: Pierce keyword?

Answer: No. If a unit has both the Impervious and the Immune: Pierce keywords, the Impervious keyword has no effect because Pierce is not being used for that attack.

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/277344-star-wars-legion-official-rulings/?tab=comments#comment-3719537

Official Rules Update

Question: When issuing orders with the command card An Entire Legion, if Battle Meditation is used to issue an order to a unit that otherwise wouldn’t receive one, is one fewer order issued to an eligible unit? Also, if the command card Sabotaged Communications is also played, is one fewer order issued to an eligible unit?

Answer: Yes, in both cases. Because the errata’d Battle Meditation explicitly says “instead,” to issue an order to a unit that would otherwise not receive an order, a different unit that is eligible cannot receive an order. Similarly, Sabotaged Communications will cause one eligible unit to not receive an order. 

Original post: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/277344-star-wars-legion-official-rulings/?tab=comments#comment-3630618

Impact X Blog: Rules Update 1.3.0

Nick Freeman takes us on a bird’s eye view of the recently updated Rules Reference:

Activating: When multiple effects occur at the same timing during a units activation (without pre-arranged resolution timings such as with detonate and standby) the player controlling the activating unit decides the order that effects resolve in. This is a new addition and clears up a lot of confusion around timing issues.

Armor X Keyword: Armor X works in the same way that Armor does, but is a limited keyword instead of unlimited. This gives some granularity and control to the system.

Base Contact: This is a reversal from a previous rule that friendly models could not be base to base with other friendly models in different units. This allows you to gain cover from vehicles and emplacements while ignoring the cover yourself. It also clears up some illegal game-states that could be created under certain circumstances and cleans up and streamlines the rules.

Climb Clamber: While climbing a mini can partially overhang a ledge as long as the mini is stable. This is a reversal on previous reversal… essentially back to where we started.

Keep reading after the jump: https://www.legionimpact.com/blog

FFG: Upcoming Rules Reference 1.3.0

FFG released the 1.3.0 version of the Rules Reference today just in time for Valentine’s Day! These rules go into effect 2-21-19

View the Rules Reference after the jump: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/43/4d/434d6594-d415-499f-9c8a-c2c860a6e040/swl_rules_reference_130_eng-compressed.pdf