Star Wars: Legion Official Rulings Update *Updated

Question: Does pre-measuring with a movement tool during a unit’s activation commit that unit to performing a move?

Answer: No, pre-measuring with a movement tool does not commit to a move. However, pre-measuring with a movement tool may only be done during that unit’s activation.

Question: If a unit, such as Luke Skywalker, moves into range 1-2 of two enemy units that both have standby tokens, and the first enemy unit spends it token to attack Luke Skywalker an defeats him, can the second enemy unit also spend its standby token, even though Luke Skywalker is no longer on the battlefield?

Answer: Yes. The triggering event (in this case Luke Skywalker moving) still occurred, and thus the second unit may still spend its standby token. It may also choose not to spend its standby token since, while multiple game effects can be triggered by one event, they are resolved one at a time and are not “declared” simultaneously. 

Question: Can one clone trooper unit spend multiple subsequent standby tokens from other friendly clone trooper units at range 1?

Answer: Yes. For example, three nearby clone trooper units have standby tokens, and an enemy unit moves into standby range of a fourth clone trooper unit, that fourth unit can spend all three standby tokens, one at a time, to make three attacks.

Question: Can a droid trooper unit with an ion token withdraw?

Answer: Yes, withdrawing takes a unit’s entire activation and all of its available actions; however, it does not require two actions to do so. Similarly, a suppressed unit can also withdraw.

Question: When General Grievous uses his command card Trained in Your Jedi Arts to perform an attack with the weapon listed on the command card, can he use Arsenal 2 to add another weapon to the attack?

Answer: No, each attack must be performed only with the weapon listed on the command card.

Question 1: Can Darth Vader use his command card Vader’s Might to move a unit that is being transported?

Answer: No, the transported unit is not on the battlefield and therefore cannot be moved.

Question 2: When measuring the distance from the unit’s current position to its new position, do you measure from unit leader to unit leader? From any mini to any mini? Or from each mini in the old position to each mini in the new position?

Answer: Each mini moved to the new position must be within range 1 of at least one mini in the unit’s previous location, as if it were two different units. To do this, choose any mini in the unit at its current position, measure range 1 from that mini, then place each mini in the unit within that range (and in cohesion). It may be helpful to move the mini that range 1 is being measured from after all the other minis in the unit have been moved.

Question 3: Can a unit be moved out of base contact?

Answer: Yes.

Question 4: Can a unit be moved into base contact?

Answer: Yes

Question 1: When Luke Skywalker uses his command card You Serve Your Master Well to perform a move or attack action with an enemy unit, can the player performing the action spend that unit’s tokens?

Answer: Yes. The unit controlled by You Serve Your Master Well is treated as a friendly unit by the player performing an action with it for the duration of that action, and the player can spend that unit’s tokens. For example, if the unit performs an attack action, the player can spend its aim tokens to reroll attack dice.

Question 2: Can that player use the unit’s optional abilities, such as the Spur keyword, or abilities that grant free actions such as Charge and Relentless? Can that player exhaust its upgrade cards to use their effects, if they’re applicable to the action being performed?

Answer: Yes.

Question 3: Can that player use actions that are treated as move or attack actions, like the Jump keyword or the Saber Throw upgrade card?

Answer: Yes.

Question 4: Can that player use Fire Support to add their own units’ dice to the attack pool? What about an enemy unit’s dice?

Answer: Because the unit performing the action is treated as a friendly unit for the duration of the action, that player can use the Fire Support keyword of their own units to add dice to the attack pool. The player cannot use the Fire Support keywords of their opponents’ units.

Question 5:  If the unit is a clone trooper, can the player performing an action with it spend the tokens of their own clone trooper units at range 1? What about their opponent’s clone trooper units?

Answer: The player performing the action can spend the tokens of their own clone trooper units at range 1, but not their opponent’s.

Question 6: If the unit being controlled engages an enemy unit, when does that engagement end? Are they still engaged after the move or attack?

Answer: No, the engagement ends as soon as the command card effect (and any triggered card effects) ends, and the enemy units return to being friendly to each other. Friendly minis from different units can be in base contact with each other and are not engaged.

Question: Can a unit be issued an order via another game effect after using the Battle Meditation upgrade card when it would have otherwise been issued an order via a command card? For example, the command card Give Into Your Anger is played and Emperor Palpatine uses Battle Meditation to issue an order to another unit instead of himself–can that other unit use the Comms Relay upgrade card to issue that order to Emperor Palpatine instead?

Answer: Yes. Because Emperor Palpatine was never issued an order, he is still eligible to be issued an order by another game effect.

Question: If General Grievous is wounded and equipped with Tenacity and attacks two different units, does he add 1 red die to each attack pool?

Answer: Yes. The Tenacity upgrade card adds 1 red die to each melee attack pool formed by the unit.

Question: After a unit with the Agile X or Tactical X keyword performs a move, does the unit have to gain the respective token? Or can it choose not to?

Answer: Yes, gaining the token is not an optional effect and will trigger every time the unit performs a standard move.

Question: Can a unit with the Detachment keyword be deployed at a different elevation than the “parent” unit?

Answer: Yes. The unit with the Detachment keyword must be deployed at a distance of speed-1 to simulate cohesion, however the rules for cohesion do not apply.

Question: While another friendly unit is performing an attack and the Limited Visibility condition card is in play, can a unit use Fire Support even if the defender is beyond the ranges specified by the Limited Visibility card?

Answer: Yes. The errata’ed version of Limited Visibility limits attacks beyond a certain range. Using the Fire Support keyword is not an attack, and thus its use is unaffected by the condition card. However, the actual attack must, of course, not be beyond the range specified by Limited Visibility.

Question: After a unit uses the Speeder keyword to perform a move that ignores terrain, can the non-unit leader minis be placed into cohesion on different elevations of terrain than the unit leader is on?

Answer: Yes, as long as the distance between the minis and their unit leader is equal to or less than the X value of the unit’s Speeder X keyword.

Question: If a unit with the Spur keyword panics, is it forced to use Spur when it moves due to panicking?

Answer: Yes. Similar to Jump and Reposition, a unit is forced to use its keywords if doing so assists that unit in moving as quickly and as efficiently as possible toward the nearest edge of the battlefield.

Question: Can Jump be used to move over a creature trooper?

Answer: Yes, if the creature trooper’s height is equal to or less than the Jump X value.

Rules Reference 1.5.1 Released

Lots of changes! The meta has been totally upset just in time for two new factions to enter the battlefield!

Check out all of the changes that will go into effect 9/12/19 after the jump: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/87/e4/87e4c102-5e75-40bc-bb48-c6c309cdd8c6/swl_rules_reference_151_eng-compressed.pdf

Developer Alex Davy on the Star Wars: Legion Rules Reference Update

“We have hope. Hope that things can get better. And they will.”

   –Hera Syndulla, Star Wars: Rebels

An updated version of the Rules Reference for Star Wars™: Legion is now available! Of particular note in this update are point value changes for a number of units, which should encourage the use of more diversified armies at competitive events. This Rules Reference will formally go into effect on September 12th. Today, Star Wars: Legion developer Alex Davy goes in depth about these changes and how they could shape the coming battles of the Galactic Civil War. 

Developer Alex Davy on the Rules Reference Update

Greetings Legion players!

What a ride it’s been for Star Wars: Legion! One of the greatest pleasures of my career has been watching this game explode out of the gate and bearing witness to all of the passion and creativity the community has poured into it from the day it was announced. It’s also been fascinating to see the many different armies players brought to events, and observe the ones that have had the most success.

When it comes to balance, every new competitive game has its unintended peaks and unanticipated valleys. After a little over a year of tournament play, we’ve taken stock of the state of the game. Over the course of this study, we identified a few major trends, analyzed what is and isn’t working, and formulated a plan for some careful course corrections.

Before diving into specifics, I’d like to outline our overall philosophy. First and foremost, it’s important to acknowledge that Legion is a hobby game, and players put hard work and passion into their armies. We want to ensure that players continue to feel that the time and effort they put into building and painting their forces is a valuable investment. With this in mind, we plan to keep these changes minimal, infrequent, and carefully targeted. To that end, we will be issuing points adjustments approximately once a year, prioritizing point decreases over increases and we feel that keeping errata to the bare minimum is necessary for the health of the game. It is our hope that this will allow players to field a much wider variety of units in a competitive setting and give them renewed interest in the lesser-used miniatures in their collections.

The vast majority of our adjustments are aimed at improving under-utilized units so that they can compete at the same level as many of the army-building staples players reach for time and time again. Vehicles, particularly from early waves, are seldom taken in competitive lists, and this update delivers large discounts to both vehicles and some of their key upgrade cards. A plethora of other updates are targeted at things like increasing the diversity of commanders that see play, deepening the pool of useful upgrade cards, and steering players toward lists that don’t rely as heavily on a full compliment of Corps units. As a rule, these changes will impact players collections in a purely positive way, allowing for much more diversity in army creation.

That said, it is sometimes necessary to take a sober look at the effect a unit is having on the game and take action accordingly. Rebel Commando and Scout Trooper Strike Teams equipped with sniper rifles are just such a unit, dominating competitive play and pushing a lot of fun Special Forces-rank units aside. Almost every top-level competitive list includes at least two sniper-equipped Strike Teams, and their utility in both list building and on the tabletop is undeniable.

Through extensive playtesting and analysis, it became clear that Strike Team snipers would need more than a simple points increase. Reliable, defense-penetrating attacks from infinite range, combined with the ability to protect the squad from nearly all danger through careful placement, make them a frustrating unit to face, and ensure that there is little opportunity for counter play. These tests, combined with the development of new content for future waves and the need for more granularity, led to a novel solution: the introduction of a new range band, range 5.

This range band will be retroactively applied to three units: The DLT-19x Sniper (Scout Troopers Unit Expansion), the DH-447 Sniper (Rebel Commandos Unit Expansion), and the 1.4 FD Laser Cannon Team (1.4 FD Laser Cannon Team Unit Expansion). In the case of the snipers, this greatly-reduced range band, in tandem with a slight points increase to the tremendously effective Strike Team units, brings these units down to a proper power level. In the case of the Laser Cannon Team, Range 5 allows this stationary unit much more board presence and utility, making it much harder for its opponents to simply avoid.

Moving forward, this addition to the game provides the Legion developers access to a new range band that, while powerful, still requires units to get closer to danger, opening up much more counter-play. Infinite range will also remain an option but can be reserved for particularly special weapons.

Finally, a brief note on the implementation of these changes: The printed points values on the cards will remain unchanged and will not be altered when these cards are reprinted or issued in future products. These original points values are designed to be used by new players and by casual players who prefer an unchanging game mode that they don’t have to keep track of. Official tournaments will be conducted utilizing the adjusted competitive play points values. Errata (such as changes to weapon ranges) applies to both modes of play, since in many cases errata is necessary for the rules to function correctly. 

At this time, we do not intend to create an app to track and manage these changes, as it is our hope that they will be kept to a very manageable in number and frequency. 

I hope you’re excited about these changes—and the bright future of Star Wars: Legion—as I am. Now go play with those T-47 Airspeeders!

Imperial Discipline: FFG Live – POINTS CHANGES & ERRATA Recap (9/3/19)

Thank you, Kevin for the great write up.

On today’s (September 3rd, 2019) FFG Live stream, Legion developers Alex Davy and Luke Eddy were joined by Matt Holland (FFG OP) to showcase the new Luke and Vader operatives as well as talk points changes and errata updates in the near future. A VOD of the stream can be found at the above link.

The FFG team is “not overhauling things rapidly,” but making more of a “surgical strike” according to Alex and Luke. These were based on data from tournaments and “extensive playtesting.”

Look at these handsome guys. Just look at ’em! Continue reading →

Updated Official Rules Reference

Question: When using the command card Brains and Brawn, can Leia Organa choose an enemy unit as a defender that her weapon does not have range to so that Chewbacca can add his weapon to the attack pool and attack that unit?

Answer: No. Leia must be able to add a weapon to the attack pool in order for the attack to be eligible. If no weapons are added to the attack pool by Leia, the attack does not happen, and therefore Chewbacca cannot add his own weapon.

Question: While Reptilian Rampage is in play during his activation, can Bossk suffer multiple wounds to perform multiple free move actions?

Answer: No. As with all card text that allows an effect to take place “during” a specific window, that effect can only be used or triggered once during that window.

Question: While Entourage cannot be effected by the upgrade card Battle Meditation, can it be effected by the upgrade cards Commanding Presence, Comms Relay, and Long Range Comms?

Answer: Yes. Using the Entourage ability to issue an order is a form of issuing an order.

Continue reading →

FFG: Official Rulings

Posted in Star Wars: Legion Official Rulings

Question: If Sabine Wren is equipped with the Darksaber and is defending against Darth Vader’s melee attack, does she roll three additional defense dice thanks to her Impervious keyword, even though the Darksaber grants her the Immune: Pierce keyword?

Answer: No. If a unit has both the Impervious and the Immune: Pierce keywords, the Impervious keyword has no effect because Pierce is not being used for that attack.

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/277344-star-wars-legion-official-rulings/?tab=comments#comment-3719537